District of Muskoka and Township of Muskoka Lakes Issue Call For Minett Joint Policy Review Steering Committee Members

The Township of Muskoka Lakes and the District Municipality of Muskoka (District) are jointly recruiting members to serve on the Minett Joint Policy Review Steering Committee. The 13 member committee will be appointed to a 12 month term to review and make recommendations regarding Official Plan policies as they relate to the Resort Village of Minett.

“District and Township Councils are focused on recruiting a highly engaged, open-minded, “skills based” Steering Committee comprised of individuals who can bring a mix of skills, expertise and perspectives to the review of Official Plan policies and recommendations, while also ensuring that the unique and diverse needs of the people and businesses of Muskoka are acknowledged and taken into account,” explained John Klinck, District Chair.

Council has identified the following knowledge and skill categories as priorities for the skills for Steering Committee members:

  • Legal
  • General Business / Financial Impact Analysis
  • Planning
  • Economist / Futurist / Demographer
  • Policy Development
  • Engineering
  • Cottage Development / Rentals
  • Mediation / Alternative Dispute Resolution
  • Scientist (e.g. limnology, ecology, biology, environment, water quality, natural heritage, etc.)
  • Seasonal Resident of the Township of Muskoka Lakes
  • Permanent Resident of the Township of Muskoka Lakes
  • Resort Development / Operations

A recruitment process has been put in place to select the Steering Committee members and applications will be accepted until noon on Friday, August 17, 2018.  For application instructions, Terms of Reference and additional background information,  please visit:  www.muskoka.on.ca/Minett or contact: minettsteeringcommitee@muskoka.on.ca.

Tuesday, July 24, 2018
w3cP.O. Box 129, 1 Bailey St., Port Carling, Ontario, P0B 1J0  Phone:(705)765-3156  Fax:(705)765-6755
Municipal Office hours: Monday to Friday 8:15 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (excluding holidays)